The Aurora Regional Fire Museum is located inside Aurora's old Central Fire Station. It was built in 1894 (read the newspaper description of the new station) and operated by the Aurora Fire Department until 1980. Designed by a local architect, the building's unique bay windows, decorative cornice, and "onion-dome" were typical of the Victorian-time, and indicative of community pride.
While an active fire station, the Old Central Fire Station underwent a lot of changes to keep up with the changing times and firefighting technology. (learn more about the stations history here) Over the last eighteen years, the City of Aurora and the Aurora Fire Station Preservation Corporation (the parent organization of the Aurora Regional Fire Museum) have undertaken a series of renovations to restore the building to it's origional splendor.